Holy Cheddar!
Yesterday, I learned that there is actually cheddar cheese here. It's white and there's only one brand. The bigger grocery stores carry it, none of which are near my flat. Which brings me to my next point: the train station shops are open on Sundays. There are grocery stores there too. Yes, the Swiss do actually grocery shop on a Sunday.
And so do I. Yet again, I was bored on a Sunday so I wandered to the train station to hit up the grocery store for no other reason than to get out of my flat. I bought milk, sausage, cheddar and a beer. I really couldn't live with having grilled cheese without cheddar, even though I absolutely adore Kraft singles on grilled cheese.
When you grocery shop, you must be aggressive. Seventy percent of Bern squishes into the grocery store because they, too, must be bored or used their Saturday for something far more fun. At this store they had baskets that you could roll on the ground behind you. When the store is packed, this makes for interesting navigation as you try to stay on your feet and in your own personal space. And you know how the Swiss have no concept of personal space. They believe that if they can't breathe down your neck, they simply aren't too close enough. Try standing in line with your groceries with a Switz breathing down your neck. If you turn around too fast, you might as well be breathing through the same nose.
On Friday, I was discussing - well, 20% of it was me talking - ethnic stereotypes with a guy I work with. He said his dad adores America and just can't get enough of it. Side note, he's been throughout Northern Virginia and up most of the East Coast. Anyways, he hates that most Europeans think that Americans are arrogant and stupid. Finally! Someone who understands it's a different culture and that we are not any less stupid - we just know a different culture. But "arrogant" was a first. I had always heard that everyone thinks the Americans are loud, stupid, fat, lazy...whatever. But never arrogant. Which seems funny to me because I've never been in such situations where people refuse to talk to you unless they absolutely have to - please tell me again who is arrogant.
I also learned that the Swiss hate the Germans with a passion. Funny isn't it, how the Swiss, who are mostly German, hate their own? And another obvious one, the Swiss hate the French. In today's world, what country doesn't? The Swiss-Germans refuse to speak French, and the French refuse to speak German. So guess what language they use? English. Mostly everyone knows English anyways. Just about the only people who don't are older people and the women who work the cash registers at Coop. Try telling those women the carbonation went out on the soda machine.
Yesterday I went to Baden. It's a little town outside of Zurich. I met this girl Chantal and her husband, who my professor said I should meet. We had an American feast of hamburgers with cheddar, corn on the cob, potato salad and chips. For dessert, Jello and a marble cake I made. We had a good time talking about all the things the Swiss do that amuse us.
They have an amazing view of the castle in Baden, it is literally all you notice from their wrap-around balcony. There's also a clock tower right next to their flat. I'll post pictures.
Before I got to Baden, I kept going and went to the Zurich Hauptbahnhof. Biggest freaking train station I've ever seen. Tons of shopping and trains. There are 17 trains going to the Eastern part of Switzerland alone.
I believe, by Tuesday, I will be done with my 150 hours at metaphor. I hope that I can travel around the country after that so that I am not stuck in an office for my entire time here, because I come home the week after this. I still have so much I want to see and do before I leave! 11 days and counting...
Guten nacht!
Love,
Jessica

2 Comments:
Hey girrrrrrl! I love the pics of the lake and the clock tower!!! Keep clicking away! I want to feel like I'm there with you (since I should've been)!
LOVE YOU MISS YOU!
-LD
July 13, 2008 at 5:55 PM
Hey Jessica! I've enjoyed your blogs, too funny. So what day are you coming back? Hopefully before we leave :( Works been slooooow but I'm gettin paid so who cares! Glad your gonna travel a bit and have fun! Cybele
July 14, 2008 at 10:50 AM
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home